Padma Awards : All You Need To Know About Them

On every Republic Day – 26th of January – awards have been announced for extraordinary, exceptional or distinguished service in any field. Here is all you need to know about the awards.

Padma Awards was inaugurated in the year of 1954. The Padma Award is given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan which is the highest civilian award after the Bharat Ratna, then comes the Padma Bhushan which is one step down to the former ‘Padma Vibhushan’ and then the last is the ‘Padma Shri’ which is the third one.

These awards are not a cash honour, there is no allowance of cash or any sort of facility to the winner, there is no special treatment or concession to this Padma award winner. After you have been awarded any of the ‘Padma Awards’ you are restricted to use this title in any letterhead, posters, invitation cards, books etc, if by any chance the awardee misuses then his/her award will be forfeited.

Padma Awards’ winners can be recommended by the State Government, Union Territory Administration, Central Ministries or Departments, Institutions of Excellence and these suggestions are considered by the committee of the awards. After the committee has decided the approval of the Home Minister, Prime Minister, President and the award winner’s name is announced on the eve of the Republic Day.

Padma Vibhushan is awarded for highly exception, special and distinguished service (2nd highest civilian award). Padma Bhushan is awarded for someone who has done eminent service of a high order (3rd highest civilian award). Padma Shri is awarded to the person for any successful service (4th highest civilian award).

The selection is done upon the exceptional work in any field and all persons without any distinction of occupation, race, position or sex are under the criteria of being eligible for the awards. Since the year 2017, BJP government decided to end the practice of ministers recommending names for Padma Awards and replaced it with anyone who can give suggestions for any person for the awards online.

The award winner’s decoration consists a ‘Sanad’ certificate which is issued under the hand and seal of the President of India and a medallion. The recipients are also given the replica of the reward or the medallion, which they can wear during any state or ceremonial functions only upon their choice.

This year Illaiyaraja, Ghulam Mustafa Khan and P. Parameswaran were awarded the Padma Vibhushan.

Pankaj Advani, Philipose Mar Chrysostom, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Alexander Kadakin, R. Nagaswamy, Ved Prakash Nanda, Laxman Pai, Arvind Parikh and Sharda Sinha were awarded the Padma Bhushan. 73 people were awarded the Padma Shri.

Preview Photo:


Samyak Sheth
Samyak Sheth

A traveller and journalist who views the world wearing multi-coloured goggles. He believes that life is to live not to survive.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

‘Cocktail Zindagi’ is not just a publication, it is a journey in itself in which you play an important character. We work to bring you stories not only from the crème de la crème but also from the grass root level.We also write content that portrays the beautiful shades of life, thus the name ‘Cocktail Zindagi’.