That I Am Born A Woman Is My Biggest Award: Sushmita Sen

I Am Woman, an event and awards ceremony that celebrates the inspiration of women was created by Karan Gupta Education Foundation and IE Business School three years ago. This year’s winners of the I Am Woman award included Sushmita Sen, Tata group industrialist Leah Tata, Actress & RJ Malishka Mendonsa, Activists Jyoti Dhawale and Preethi Srinivasan, Advocate Abha Singh, Artist and Philanthropist Michelle Poonawalla, International Designer Falguni Shane Peacock, and Entrepreneur Bhavna Jasra. The event compere was Dr. Amber Wigmore, Director of Career Services at IE Business School and Actress Madhoo Shah.

“This was the first year we opened nominations to the public and we are overwhelmed with the response – we received thousands of nominations from power women all over the country. Each of the women had inspiring stories to tell and it was a very hard decision to finalize a short list of women who are the winners of the I Am Woman award,” states Dr. Karan Gupta, the founder of KGEF and MD of IE Business School, India.

Sushmita Sen was elated. ” The fact that I am born a woman is my biggest award,” said Sushmita, adding that she was a firm believer of the concept I AM Woman and the fact that the award instituted by Karran Gupta Education Foundation was named I Am Woman left her feeling “privileged.”

“I am visiting India for the sole purpose of being part of this renowned event. I was the host of the 2016 edition of I Am Woman and I look forward to once again hear the inspiring stories of women and encourage them in any way that I can,” adds Dr. Wigmore.

Guests and celebrities at the prestigious award ceremony included Maheka Mirpuri, Sheeba Sabir, Reshma Merchant, Farah Khan Ali, Aarti and Kailash Surendranath, Mrinal Deshraj, Vikas Bhalla, Kiran Bawa, Arzoo Gowitrikar, Aditi Gowitrikar among others.

2017 I Am Woman award was given to Amruta Fadnavis, Laxmi Agarwal, Gauri Sawant, Farah Khan Ali, Malini Agarwal, Shaheen Mistry, and Krishika Lulla. 2016 I Am Woman award was given to Sonam Kapoor, Reshma Merchant, Maheka Mirpuri, Raunaq Roy, Kiran Bawa, Nisha Jamvwal, Devita Saraf, Amrita Raichand, Rouble Nagi, and Lucky Morani.

Karan Gupta, Sushmita Sen, Alisah Sen and Nitish Shah at the I Am Woman Awards, an Educationist Karan Gupta initiative
Dr. Amber Wigmore, Michelle Poonawala, Abha Singh, Falguni Peacock, Bhavna Jasra, Karan Gupta, Preethi Srinivasan, RJ Malishka, Jyoti Dhavale, Leah Tata and Nitish Shah at the I Am Woman Awards

“KGEF’s sole mission is to work towards the education of underprivileged children and women empowerment. It’s high time that men take an active role in empowering women. In Mother Teresa’s words – I alone cannot change the world but I can cast a stone in the waters to create many ripples,” adds Dr. Gupta.

Preview Photo:

Cocktail Zindagi Network
Cocktail Zindagi Network

Cocktail Zindagi is a bilingual digital publication, with a print edition in Gujarati. Cocktail Zindagi portrays the shades of life, offering heart-wrenching content that will blow your mind!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

‘Cocktail Zindagi’ is not just a publication, it is a journey in itself in which you play an important character. We work to bring you stories not only from the crème de la crème but also from the grass root level.We also write content that portrays the beautiful shades of life, thus the name ‘Cocktail Zindagi’.